31 Days… Doodling

We are moving right along with 31 Days of The Simple Things. I’m sitting here, enjoying Day 4’s simple thing, but you’ll have to wait til tomorrow for that one. Today is Day 3 and piggy-backing on yesterday’s Art Supplies is another simple thing that relaxes me… doodling!

I have always been a doodler.  Whether in school, listening to a lecture or at church listening to a sermon or on the phone talking to a friend… I feel compelled to doodle.  Do not make the mistake of thinking a doodler is not paying attention, no, no, no.  It has been proven that doodler-brains are actually more attentive when they are engaged in scribbling out little pictures or designs.  It just so happens that another 31 Day-er is doing a whole series on doodling and she says “Doodling focuses your mind, giving you increased attention (even when it looks like you’re not).”

I started scribbling out that page above one night when I came home and I was feeling a little under the weather.  I wasn’t quite ready to go to bed (didn’t want to wake up early) but I needed to do something calming.  So I grabbed a couple of black pens and an art journal and I drew a flower.  Then I drew some leaves.  Then I drew some blossoms.  I started filling in the blanks with squiggles and stripes.  Before I knew it, I had about 2/3 of a 2 page spread covered in doodles and it was actually kinda pretty.  But what was even better, I had completely forgotten about my aching muscles and throbbing headache.

I don’t always have the time or inclination to sit down and create some big piece of artwork.  Sometimes my brain is just too fried to try to come up with something creative and colorful.  But I can make a few squiggles on a page and get the same satisfaction.  And if my brain is trying to wander when I’m supposed to be paying attention, the doodling helps it to stay focused in one spot and still able to listen.

It’s not about being perfect, it’s not about being amazing.  It’s not about being right or wrong.  It’s just doodling.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “31 Days… Doodling”

  1. Beautiful! Love your topic!

    I blog at ‘Only A Breath’, and I’d love for you to stop by when you have time. I’m writing about “31 Days to Love Your Neighbor”. 🙂
    Have a great day!
    Melanie 🙂

  2. I am *SO* doodling impaired. It’s a shame – I’ve got some great stuff in my head (HA!), but when it comes out? Blah. So jealous.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

